News as it is!

Court Orders Remand of 8 Men Over Attempted Murder, Others

An Igbosere Chief Magistrate’s Court, Lagos, has ordered the remand of eight suspects who were brought before the court over alleged attempted murder related offences.
The eight suspects are: Akinmuleya Abiye, 45, Juni Yagba, 48, Yusuf Agunbiade, 21, Taiwo Omosehin, 48, Ola Omosowone, 35, Samuel Agunyebi, 28, Michael Aladetan, 40 and Okunomo Tomola, 30.
Magistrate B. I. Bakare, who presided over the court made the remand order against the suspects, when they were charged the before the court, on charges bordering on conspiracy, attempted murder, malicious damage of buildings, unlawful assault and conduct likely to breach public peace.
Upon the reading of the charge to all the defendants, Magistrate Bakare noted that since part of the charge against the defendants borders on attempted murder, which his court did not have jurisdiction to entertain, he directed the prosecution to apply for remand warrant  in line with section 264 of the Administration of Criminal Justice Laws (ACJL) of Lagos State, 2015.
Following the directive of the magistrate, the prosecutor, Barrister Morufu Animashaun, orally applied for the remanded of all the defendants pending when the Directorate of Public Prosecution (DPP) will issued an advice on the charge.
Upon remand application made by the prosecutor, Magistrate Bakare ordered that all the defendants be remanded on prison custody till  November 29, when the DPP will have  issue an advice on the charge.
In charging the court on Tuesday, the prosecutor, Barrister Animasha, told the court that te Special Enquiry Bureau (SEB) of the Force Criminal Intelligence and Investigation Department (FCIID), Alagbon-Ikoyi, Lagos, received a petition from one Omoshola Segun, wherein it was alleged that all the suspects and other now at large, invaded their community, Ito-Agan Community, Tin Can Island, Apapa, Lagos.
Animashaun told the court that upon receiving the petition, S.E.B. led by Mr. Samuel Olukayode, a deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP), investigated the petition and found all the suspects culpable of the alleged crimes and charges were preferred against them.
In the charge marked P/99/18, police alleged that all the eight suspects on or about August 26, 2018, at Itan-Agan community, conspired among themselves to commit felony to wit attempted murder.
They were also alleged to have attempted to killOmoshola Segun, Lot Ikuesan and Abudu Adekunle. They were also alleged to have unlawfully and maliciously damaged three buildings belonging to the trio of Omoshola Segun, Abudu Adekule and Asemudara Alaba, which were valued to be N47.5 million.
The police also alleged that all the suspects unlawfully assaulted one Olorunyomi Elejuawa, and an Inspector Ogundipe Oluwaseyi, who was on official duty of peace making.
The offences according to the prosecutor, are contrary to and punishable under Sections 411, 230(1), 230, 339, 172, 174(a)(b) and 160(1) of the criminal laws of Lagos State, 2015.

213 total views, 1 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: